Image

Hello, now that I have your attention…..I just wanted to share my very favorite Christmas poem with you. A friend of mine wrote it the year my daughter was born and I pull it out to revisit every year. I love it’s simplicity and the last line bring tears to my eyes every time. regardless, of your belief system, this is a story of birthing light and hope into the world. I wish you all a beautiful holiday season and turn your face towards the light and move forward.

 

heavy with god

I walk beside the donkey

swaying in the dark

follow some star

never seen one quite like that

my carpenter husband

frightened with responsibility

holds my hand

and the donkey’s rein

finds us shelter

in a barn

frets

no matter how he tries

things never turn out right

but I think it’s perfect

for God to take a human form

in an animal setting

the manger looks like a cradle

no birth is easy

not until the star’s straight up over the eaves

is the boy born

wise men appear

with gifts worth more

than Joe makes in a year

shepherds adore him

sheep sleep

the light comes from everywhere.

-Josephine Jones-