Image

moon energy too big, even though she is waning. I wake up at 4. don’t get up, just lay in the warmth, windows open, flanked by large cats. my boys.  listen to my breathing and theirs. wonder what they are chasing in their dreams? giant meatloaves no doubt…

eventually, I roll over as quietly as I can, but it is too late. they are on me, in my face, demanding breakfast. there is no pretending that I am still asleep, they know better. this is our morning dance. utterly predictable and  yet always a new twist in their approach.

I go downstairs, feed the boys, light candles and start a small fire in the woodstove. put the kettle on and go outside to build another fire in the outside fire bowl in the middle of the lawn. the half moon hangs low in the sky, visible between the naked tree branches. the birds are starting to add to the soundscape, as the dimmer switch on the day begins to be turned up.

it occurs to me that sunrise and sunset are the time when one is most acutely aware that nothing stays the same. everything is constantly changing, never the same twice. even in consistency, in stability, routine, yes, the sun always rises, it always sets …the sun is in constant motion across the sky, clouds forever shifting, gathering, dispersing. there is always a new color, a new shade, a new change in the light, a different perspective, if only we pay attention.

Image

Image

Image

to pay attention to how it is never the same. ever. each time is the first and the last.  we must be vigilant in appreciating the possibility that is offered up each day. the opportunity to show up fully in our lives. fully and honestly with ourselves, our loved ones, our community. attuned to what is happening right now.

Image

how can I show up in the most loving, clear way possible and how might that impact my day? not how much I get done, but how much I show up. which, when you really show up, you can better see what really needs to be done.

 Image

Image

 some days, most days, we have an enormous amount to accomplish/do/handle/. but maybe starting out the day being still in the morning, watching the sun come up instead of flying out the door is just the thing to allow you to tackle what you need to do later on.

 Image

and today, I think I will work in the yard and do my taxes on Sunday…